2013 International Infection Prevention Week Presents: Global Hand Hygiene
October 22, 2013 at 11:00 a.m. EDT, 10:00 a.m. CDT, 9:00 a.m. MDT, 8:00 a.m. PDT
(60 minutes)

Meet the Presenter:

Didier Pittet MD, MS

Meet the Moderators:

Patti Grant, RN, BSN, MS, CIC- APIC President
Katrina Crist, MBA, Chief Executive Officer

 

IP Competency: Novice

Duration: 60 minutes      Available through: 12/31/2016

Kicking off the 2013 International Infection Prevention Week (IIPW), October 20-26, APIC is proud offer a webinar on the World Health Organization's First Global Patient Safety Challenge Clean Care is Safer Care. IIPW provides a focal point for healthcare professionals, consumers, organizations, and industry partners to shine a light on infection prevention and its power to save lives in both developed and developing countries around the world.

Description:      

Launched in 2005, the World Health Organization First Global Patient Safety Challenge Clean Care is Safer Care fosters partnerships and nationally- coordinated activities to reduce infections through improved hand hygiene in healthcare worldwide.  By 2013, 132 of 194 United Nations' members' states had pledged their support to implement actions to reduce hospital infections, corresponding to 93% coverage of the world population.  Between 2009 and 2013, over 15,000 hospitals from 169 countries joined its sister initiative SAVE LIVES: Clean Your Hands. The next challenge is to convince and mobilize the private sector, governments, and patients to join forces with the potential to save millions of lives each year.              

Target audience: ID specialists, infection control professionals, hospital epidemiologists, public health professionals, hospital administrators

Learning Objectives:

  • Discuss the importance of infection prevention and the key role of hand hygiene in both developed and developing countries
  • Emphasize the feasibility of the WHO multimodal implementation strategy for hand hygiene promotion across all settings and cultures
  • Highlight barriers to infection control and how to overcome the barriers
  • Encourage the inclusion of patient participation in multimodal hand hygiene promotion strategies

Group Site License: Registration includes one internet connection and one telephone connection at one location and an unlimited number of participants from your organization in one listening room.

Due to U.S. Accreditation standards and the likely global audience for this presentation, Continuing Education (CE) credit will not be offered for this program.  A  printable Certificate of Completion will be available for all attendees at the conclusion of the event.


Select a Webinar Format:
On Demand Webinar  $0.00 for APIC Member, $0.00 for Non-Members

(If you registered for the Live webinar, do not use this login. Follow the original login instructions from your confirmation emails to get your included archive views.)