Best Practices in MDRO Screening and Control
January 25, 2012 at 1:00 p.m. EST, 12:00 p.m. CST, 11:00 a.m. MST, 10:00 a.m. PST
(60 minutes)

Meet the Speaker:


Richard A. Van Enk, Ph.D. CIC
Director, Infection Prevention and Epidemiology
Bronson Methodist Hospital

 

IP Competency: Expert

 

Duration: 60 minutes      Available through: 12/31/2015

 

 Program Description
The target audience of this presentation is a combination of clinical microbiology personnel, infection preventionists, hospital epidemiologists, and the hospital administrators who make decisions about clinical practice. This presentation addresses an important area of collaboration between the hospital clinical microbiology laboratory and the hospital infection prevention department.  In the detection and management of multidrug resistant organisms, this interaction must be a multi-step dialog and both departments must appreciate the needs of the other. The speaker intends to follow the process of developing a best-practice program for control and prevention of multidrug resistance while playing each department's role so each department understands the implications of the decisions on the other department.

 

Learning Objectives
Participants will be able to:

  •  list the most significant multidrug resistant pathogens, their reservoirs, and how they are transmitted
  •  implement the proven methods to reduce the risk of MDRO infections
  • select the best practices to reduce the risk of MDRO infections for their practice setting

 

This resource is supported by an unrestricted educational grant from Roche, a Strategic Partner.

 

Group Site License: Registration includes one internet connection and one telephone connection at one location and an unlimited number of participants from your organization in one listening room.

Nursing contact hours:

What is required to get CNE?

To get CNE for a webinar, you must attend the program in its entirety and complete an on-line evaluation of it. Your feedback is not only required by our CNE accrediting body, but it is vital to development of future programming that best meets learners' needs. We read every word you write.

 How do I meet requirements to evaluate the program?

You can complete the on-line evaluation from your personal computer immediately after attending the webinar by using the link provided at the conclusion of the program. Once the on-line evaluation is complete you will be eligible to obtain your CE Certificate of completion.

     


Select a Webinar Format:
Online Archive Webinar Recording  $0.00 for APIC Member, $35.00 for Non-Members

(If you registered for the Live webinar, do not use this login. Follow the original login instructions from your confirmation emails to get your included archive views.)